You are here

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Sports Award

Copyrights: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Sports Award

The foundation is accepting applications from organisations in the United States or Canada. Deadline: 29 May 2019

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Sports Award recognises sports teams, athletes and community-based organisations that use sports to catalyse and sustain changes to make communities healthier places to live, learn, work and play.


The foundation will consider applications in the following three categories:

  • Category 1: A professional sports team community relations department or foundation based in the United States or Canada
  • Category 2: An individual athlete or professional coach's foundation based in the United States or Canada
  • Category 3: An organisation in the United States or Canada that is an influential leader and model for improving community health through sports

Applicants that are not charitable organisations or public entities must apply with an organisation that is such an entity and will receive the prize funds. Additional documentation may be requested. 

Eligible organisations must already be in existence; funding not available for equipment, transportation, facilites or other programme expenses.

If you are a chapter within a larger organisation, the umbrella organisation is eligible to apply, but individual chapters are not. We encourage national offices of affiliate organisations to feature the work of their local organisations in their application.

The foundation pledges to work in ways that reflect our values and our guiding principles. We strive to treat everyone with respect; we cultivate diversity, inclusion, and collaboration; and we act as good stewards of private resources, using them to advance the public’s interest. We recognise that our reputation and success also depend upon the integrity, fairness, and sound judgment of those with whom we work.   

With these principles in mind, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) will not consider an application if it is submitted by an entity whose name, brand, or practices—in the foundation’s judgment—denigrates, harms, or discriminates against any racial or ethnic group. For example, a team with a name or mascot that, in RWJF’s view, denigrates Native Americans will not be eligible for the award.

Selection criteria
Application process

2019 Key Dates:

May 29, 2019 (5:00 p.m. ET)
Deadline for receipt of online applications

Week of July 29, 2019
Finalists notified

Week of September 16, 2019
Winners notified

November 7, 2019
Presentation to awardees, Princeton, N.J.

Each category winner recieves:


Article type



Robert Wood Johnson Foundation


Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 12:43

E-Newsletter subscribe