You are here

Women's Cup announced at Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup


Women's Cup announced at Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup

12 national women’s teams will participate in a Women’s Cup this year at the 8th Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup, the world-class international football tournament beating homelessness. This takes place from 19-26 September 2010 on Copacabana Beach, Rio de Janiero, Brazil.

Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Haiti, India, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Uganda and USA will all participate in the Women’s Homeless World Cup. Zambia is the current Women’s Homeless World Cup champion, lifting the trophy at the Melbourne 2008 Homeless World Cup.

Karina Robledo, Team Mexico, is 30 years old and for the last 8 years she has being drinking heavily since being kicked out of her home by her father who is an alcoholic and abusive. She said: “I have been living on the streets continuously. When I heard about the state selections I decided to take the opportunity seriously and cut my drinking right down. Today, as a player on the national squad, I am now taking good care of myself and focused on representing Mexico well at the Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup.”

Michele da Silva, represented Team Brazil at the Copenhagen 2007 Homeless World Cup and is a great example of the change a player can create – she now plays for the national Brazil Women’s Under 21 Team. She said: “The Homeless World Cup is about a major life experience. You create friendships and set the right attitude to succeed in your life and in football.”

Mel Young, President, Homeless World Cup is delighted to see the Women’s Homeless World Cup return after its success at the Melbourne 2008 Homeless World Cup: “It is very important to us that the benefits of football are available to all. Homelessness afflicts women as well as men. Women are often subjected to horrendous abuse on the street. We are honored that 12 national women’s teams are standing proud to represent their country and to represent women the world over at the Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup.”

Beating homelessness through football, the Homeless World Cup is an annual world class, international football tournament inspiring 64 national grass roots football projects and over 30,000 homeless players a year to change their lives: over 70% change for the better. The 8th Rio 2010 Homeless World Cup takes place from 19 – 26 September 2010 at Copacabana Beach, Rio, Brazil before the baton is handed to the Paris 2011 Homeless World Cup from 19 - 29 August 2011. Homeless World Cup is supported by Nike, Vodafone Foundation, UEFA, global ambassador Eric Cantona, international footballers Didier Drogba and Rio Ferdinand.

For more information:
Connect with the Homeless World Cup
Read more about the upcoming Homeless World Cup in Rio


Article type



Eva Vicens


Tuesday, September 14, 2010 - 23:00

E-Newsletter subscribe