You are here

18th Winter Deaflympics

18th Winter Deaflympics

Deaflympics is a worldwide sports competition for deaf athletes with the equal status as the Olympics and Paralympic Games and also held once every four years.


03/28/2015 00:00


Khanty-Mansiysk, Magnitogorsk, Russia|04.05.2015

The 18th Winter Deaflympics will be held from 28 March to 5 April with five different sports and 33 sets of medals awarded.

Competitive events include snowboarding, cross country skiing, curling, ice hockey and alpine skiing (slalom discipline) and will be held at the sports facilities of the Khanty-Mansiysk.

To date, 449 deaf athletes from 27 countries have registered for the 18th Winter Deaflympics.

Participating countries include: Armenia, Austria, Hungary, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Kazakhstan, Canada, China, Mongolia, Norway, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, USA, Turkey, Ukraine, Finland, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia and Japan.

The most popular sport is hockey with six teams participating: USA, Sweden, Kazakhstan, Finland, Canada and Russia and 145 participants.

[This article has been edited by the Operating Team]


E-Newsletter subscribe