You are here

CONIFA European Football Cup 2017

CONIFA European Football Cup 2017

The European Football Cup 2017 in Northern Cyprus 2017 will be the second ever European tournament for national teams outside FIFA.


Sun, 06/04/2017 - 10:00 to Mon, 06/12/2017 - 21:45



The European Football Cup is the major football tournament outside FIFA in Europe. Eight teams will meet in Northern Cyprus over the whole week to hold a huge cultural and football festival and celebrate the diversity and cultural richness of Europe.

The participating teams are:

  • Northern Cyprus - the host nation, a partially recognised nation in the northern half of the island of Cyprus
  • Padania - the Po Valley regional selection from the northern part of Italy and the current European Champion
  • Felvidek - A Hungarian minority within Slovakia, literally meaning "Highlands"
  • Abkhazia - A partly recognised country wedged between Russia, Georgia and the shore of the Black Sea, current World Champion
  • Ellan Vannin - the Celtic name for the Isle of Man, an island in the Irish Sea and vice World Champion 2014
  • Karpatalja - The Hungarian minority within Ukraine, mainly, but not only, in Zakarpattya Oblast
  • South Ossetia - A partly recognised nation deep in the High Caucasus mountains - between Georgia and Russia
  • Szekely Land - A historic Hungarian nation in today Romania, mainly in Transylvania

Over the whole week cultural festivals and show will promote the cultures of all participating team and tell the world about their existence, heritage and history.