You are here

Strengthening youth resilience to lower the risk of recruitment by gangs and organized criminal networks

Strengthening youth resilience to lower the risk of recruitment by gangs and organized criminal networks

The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime is organizing an online High Level Side Event on “Strengthening Youth Resilience to Lower the Risk of Recruitment by Gangs and Organized Criminal Networks” through sports.

Date

Mon, 10/12/2020

WHEN: 12 October 2020, 15:00 - 15:50 Vienna time/ 9:00 AM New York/ 16:00 Doha/ 15:00 Cairo, Johannesburg/ 16:00 Kenya/22:00 Tokyo/ 20:00 Bangkok/ 8:00 AM Lima, Bogota, Mexico

This high-level side event aims to underline the importance of prevention programmes for vulnerable youth as part of comprehensive strategies to counter gang violence and organized crime. Panelists will share experiences from Latin America on the use of innovative approaches, such as through sport, to reach young people at risk of victimization and involvement in crime. Specifically, and building on the work of UNODC, the event will highlight the use of sport as a tool to build youth and community resilience by strengthening key personal and social life skills, and by generating safe public spaces that facilitate positive youth engagement in marginalized communities.

Agenda

Welcoming:

  • Candice Welsch, Deputy Director, Division of Operations, UNODC
  • H.E. Major General Dr. Abdullah Yousuf Al-Mal, Advisor to the Prime Minister and Minister of Interior of the State of Qatar

Speakers:

  • H.E. General (r) PNP, César Gentille Vargas, Minister of Interior, Peru
  • Lina María Arbeláez Arbeláez, Director General of the Colombian Institute for Family Welfare (ICBF), Colombia
  • Guadalupe María Bautista Calatayud, Head of Police Policy, Ministry of Security and Citizen Protection, Mexico

Closing:

  • Marco Teixeira, Global Coordinator, Doha Declaration Global Programme, UNODC

Moderation:

  • Georgia Dimitropoulou, Team Leader, Crime Prevention through Sports, Doha Declaration Global Programme, UNODC

 

 

People

E-Newsletter subscribe