You are here

Webinar: Sexual health education and sport for development

Webinar: Sexual health education and sport for development

Join Girls in the Lead as they bring activists, nonprofits, policymakers, and researchers to discuss how they use sports for development to increase reproductive justice.

Date

Thu, 11/11/2021

Date: Thursday, 11 November, 2021

8:00  (UTC-5) – CST St. Louis/Chicago, USA
9:00 (UTC-4) –  EST New York, USA
14:00 (UTC+1) – Berlin, Germany
15:00 (UTC+2) – Johannesburg, South Africa
18:30 (UTC+5:30) – New Delhi, India

This webinar will bring activists, nonprofits, policymakers, and researchers from around the world together to discuss how they use sports for development to increase reproductive justice. We will hold space for a discussion of best practices and brainstorming of next steps around program design and policy development.

Learn from the different organizations who combine sexual health education with sports for development:

  • Jane Wallis from The Grassroot Project will explain their school programming in Washington D.C. and how they pair reproductive health information with sports for development. 
  • Mahima Barse from Slum Soccer, a FIFA-awarded Football for Development organization in India that uses football as a tool to educate, empower and provide opportunities to diverse and underprivileged communities throughout India, will discuss their programs around menstrual and sexual health.
  • George Nedi from Nayo, the Nancholi Youth Organization, will share learnings about combining sports leagues with the work of a rural hospital in Malawi fighting the spread of HIV, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases.  
  • Khayran Noor will represent Sports Legal, an organization working to bring the power of sports and law together to advance the sustainable development goals in Kenya. We will hear about targeted sports for development programs for girls and young women.

Learn strategies to push for sexual health education in sport for development programs

We welcome people who want to improve gender equality and sexual health education through sports for development. By combining sexual health education and sports for development, these organizations are providing a safe space for girls and women to take up public space and give them important information about their own bodies.

Register for the webinar here.

People

E-Newsletter subscribe