You are here

#FootballPeople Festival

#FootballPeople Festival

FARE network is hosting a series of online panel discussions and conversations with leading international voices to discuss issues, ideas and action for the future.

Date

Mon, 10/19/2020 to Fri, 10/23/2020

FARE is proud to announce the first #FootballPeople Festival about football, social change and equality. The Festival will run online from 19-23 October. For more information and to register, please go to https://fpfestival2020.co.uk/

During Fare’s #FootballPeople weeks, we are bringing together a community of leading voices to discuss how to achieve equality and inclusion on and off the pitch. Speakers include Shireen Ahmed, Crystal Dunn, Tziarra King, Renee Montgomery, Justin Morrow, Musa Okwonga, Melissa Ortiz, Aline Pellegrino, Marion Reimers, Ryan Russell, Michael Sam, Humberto Tan, Grant Wahl, among many other great names.

 The Festival will be a series of sessions on the most pertinent global issues in sport; ranging from athlete activism in the wake of the Black Lives Matter movement, the future of women’s football, the intersection of LGBTIQ+ and race issues, keeping refugees on football’s agenda, coaching and diversity, and breaking the mould in sports journalism. We will deep dive into regional challenges – such as confronting nationalism in the Balkans to gender stereotypes across Latin America – as well as country dynamics, including race and representation in the Brazilian game and glass ceilings in US Soccer. 

Lineup:

Monday 19th October 2020

  • Football, Nationalism and the Balkans (15.00 BST / 16.00 CET)
  • The Future of Women’s Football (18.00 BST / 19.00 CET)

  • Racism and Futebol in Brazil; O racismo no esporte e na sociedade brasileira (18.00 EST / 19.00 Brasília Time / 23.00 BST)

Tuesday 20th October 2020

  • Where Are The Black Coaches In Football? (15.00 BST / 16.00 CET)
  • A New Era of Athlete Activism: How Athletes Are Changing Sport (12.00 EST / 17.00 BST / 18.00 CET)

  • #NiUnaMenos in Latin America - Fútbol Feminista (17.00 Bogotá & CDMX / 18.00 EST / 19.00 Brasília Time)

Wednesday 21st October 2020

  • Gendered violence in Sport: What is it and how do we tackle it? (15.00 BST / 16.00 CET)
  • Sports journalism: Breaking the mould (11.00 CDMX / 17.00 BST / 18.00 CET)

Thursday 22nd October 2020

  • More action needed. Sexism in German football (15.00 BST / 16.00 CET)
  • Black and Gay: At the intersection of race and LGBTIQ+ issues (13.00 ET / 18.00 BST / 19.00 CET)

  • Glass Ceilings: Black and Latinx communities and Women in US Soccer (18.00 EST / 19.00 Brasília Time / 23.00 BST)

Friday 23rd October 2020

  • Refugees and Football (15.00 BST / 16.00 CET)

People

E-Newsletter subscribe