You are here

Homeless World Cup 2015

Homeless World Cup 2015

The 2015 Homeless World Cup will be held from 12-19 September in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.


09/11/2015 00:00


Amsterdam, The Netherlands|19.09.2015

The thirteenth edition of the Homeless World Cup will take place at the Museumplein in Amsterdam.

The first annual Homeless World Cup tournament was held in 2003 in Graz, Austria. A number of cities have played host to the event since the first tournament in Austria including: Edinburgh, Cape Town, Paris, Milan, Copenhagen, Melbourne, Rio de Janeiro, Mexico City, Poznań, and most recently, Santiago.

The event will welcome 16 female teams and 47 male teams.

The event will be played across three pitches which have been lined with state-of-the-art synthetic turf courtesy of Act Global. The event will open with a parade of all the players as they make their way to the centre stage for the opening ceremony. They will be greeted by the Dutch King Willem-Alexander, who will receive the players and mark the beginning of the 13th Homeless World Cup. The opening match is at 11 a.m. between the Netherlands and Northern Ireland, followed by the opening match of the women’s tournament between the Netherlands and Argentina.

The women’s final will take place at 5:45p.m. on Saturday, 19 September, followed by the men’s final at 6 p.m. After the last whistle is blown, a closing ceremony will mark the end of another Homeless World Cup.


[This article has been edited by the Operating Team]